Do you really believe in Vitamins?

Some of you have heard about my unfortunate vacation last year. While entering the hotel, I slipped on the wet floor and broke my arm. “Why me?!” is the first question a person asks when something unpleasant happens to him or her. I was not an exception, but the reason for this question was different. I exercise regularly; I take my vitamins (including Vitamin D, minerals and calcium). It was just a fall, and I have never broken any bones before. Why did this happen?

I started studying multivitamin composition, absorption in the body, recommendations, and daily requirements. The more I learned, the more confused I was getting:

  • Some of the recommended dosages have not been renewed in more than 10 years;
  • What brand of vitamins to buy?
  • How can I be sure that the pharmaceutical company that makes them is reliable?
  • Do they contain any preservatives or additives that could be harmful long term?

I spent a long time in different drug stores, including what they call “natural” ones, looking at the labels, trying to figure out who made them, whether they were made in U.S. and looking for any evidence of certifications, etc. Unfortunately, I was not lucky enough to find supplements for myself and my family that would satisfy me. To be specific, I could not find the vitamins manufactured (not distributed!) in the U.S.A. and certified by the independent non-profit organizations.

I found out that VITAMINS AND OTHER DIETARY SUPPLEMENTS DO NOT GO THROUGH THE FDA APPROVAL!!! So, anybody can sell them!

We can’t always eat a perfect diet, and each of us has unique health needs. Vitamins and other dietary supplements are something we use on a daily basis. You do not see the immediate effect of vitamins. So, we really need to know what we introduce into our bodies every single day.

As it was such an eye-opening experience for me, being in the medical field for a long time, I felt obligated to share this information with you. Now when shopping for supplements for your family, you will have a better idea of what to look at.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.