TV

TV

TV.  If kids are entertained by two letters imagine the fun they’ll have with twenty-six.  Open your child’s imagination.  Open a book. 

~Author Unknown

It’s been for a while now that I seriously doubt the existence of coincidence.

A couple of weeks ago I received a letter with a very attractive promotion for our office: they would come to install TV at NO cost for us, provide service at NO cost, etc…..

As I was planning a new topic for my Blog, this promotion came in handy. No!!!  I will not have TV in my waiting room (as I have never had it before). It gave me an idea that I want to share with you.

We never had and never will have a TV in our office. It is not because we can’t afford it. The reason is deeper: I never promote it. Furthermore, I always try to convince the parents to use it as little as possible.

For busy, working families, TV becomes a lifesaver at the times: it keeps kids busy while we fix the dinner, when we need some time on the phone, and finally… when we need to take a shower!

Unfortunately, kids get used to TV very quickly and, after a while, we have a hard time limiting it.

There are so many reasons why TV is harmful (computer and video games are included) that I will not be able to cover them all at once, but I am committed to share my thoughts with you in full.

The children who watch TV a lot do not read, do not interact with their parents and siblings, and have a hard time entertaining themselves because they are used to “ be entertained”.

Later on, the problem of overeating comes to play because they see various commercials, and crave unhealthy foods.

They spend too much time sitting in front of TV and don’t play outdoors.

As our kids get older, many of them get computers. They spend most of the time in their rooms (sometimes doors closed). It takes time away from homework and their sleep schedule suffers. In the morning, they are already tired. In school, friends talk about the TV show they watched the night before and our children think: “why am I not involved?”.

These are the facts, coming from multiple studies, not just my observations. Although it is difficult to change our kid’s TV habits,  it requires the change in our own behavior, I’m always open to share my experience with you as a professional as well as a parent.

Together we can achieve a lot!


This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.