Welcome to MY Blog


Open & Find Out

Open & Find Out

Before I got married I had six theories about bringing up children;now I have six children, and no theories.

John Wilmot

This is the first of the series of Blog posts I will be sending to you, parents of my patients. You may sign up to receive them on-line. You may discontinue your subscription anytime. You may share them with your friends and relatives.

Why did I start doing it?

  1. Some of my patients’ parents encouraged me to do so.
  2. This is a great way to share my thoughts and ideas with those of you who I don’t see very often in my office.
  3. There will be no specific recommendations for certain situations. There will be just general thoughts that may help you uncover some tiny or a little bigger problems in your child that skips from your glance.
  4. We have access to an enormous amount of information now. I want to help you to sort it out (we’ll limit it to yours and your child’s health issues, of course!).
  5. I’ve collected enough of interesting cases and thoughts that I will gladly share with you.

I will try to focus on the issues that may be interesting to most of you. If the topic applies to your family and carries useful information I ask you to share it with your spouse and other family members. And, what may be even more important, with your child (if his/her age allows you to do so).

You may know by now that, unfortunately, you are not always a great authority for your child. This has absolutely nothing to do with you, the way you approach your child, level of your education, etc.  No. It is just the way IT IS.

Here I need to tell you a story from my life as a parent and a practicing pediatrician.

It was a while ago when my older daughter was about 14. She started having allergies and I brought some medications and explained how to use them.

In several days my daughter said that they were not working. In a week, she claimed that she was getting worse because of my treatment. At one point, she refused to use anything. The message was clear: You don’t know what you are doing.

But her symptoms required treatment. I asked my colleague at that time Dr.K. to see her. Before coming to the room  Dr.K. asked me:” What does she need?” I said, ”Some Claritin and steroid  nasal spray”.

In a couple of minutes my daughter was done. She came out of the room happy, confidently carrying prescription for Claritin and steroid nasal spray. “Look, mom”, she said” I have a prescription now. Dr. K. is a real doctor”. ‘’Great”, I said, ”That’s why we are here.”

Our dear children are all different and all alike. Sharing my thoughts (that apply) with them could be a good tool to manage different situations at home.

We will see how it works!

All the best to you and your families!

Photo credit: Flickr Hu2Desigh

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.